Subscribe Now for Email Updates

Home Blog Barry Frank Will Be Honored With The Emmy® Lifetime Achievement Award

Barry Frank Will Be Honored With The Emmy® Lifetime Achievement Award



New York, NY – March 15, 2018 – The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) today proudly announced that Barry Frank, one of the most well-known and influential sports program content creators, television rights negotiators and the talent representative of some of the greatest television sports broadcasters, will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for Sports this year at the 39th Sports Emmy® Awards.

“Barry Frank is a master at finding the right talent and building a sports program that captures the attention of the entire nation,” said Chuck Dages, Chairman, NATAS.

“When you look at the list of events that he brought to fruition and the roster of on-air and production talent he represents, it’s safe to say that no one man shaped modern sports television more than Barry Frank,” said Steve Ulrich, SVP, Sports Emmy Awards.

Barry Frank
A graduate of Carnegie Mellon University and the Harvard Business School, Mr. Frank spent time at CBS Production Operations, J. Walter Thompson, and ABC Sports as Vice President of Sports Programming.  He joined IMG in 1970.  In 1976, he left IMG to become President of CBS Sports and returned to IMG in 1978.

Mr. Frank has been the leading sports rights agent and packager in this country since his early days at ABC Sports.  During his time at IMG, he has negotiated some of the most important contracts in the sports television business, including representing the IOC in seven Olympic Games, the NFL, Major League Baseball, the NHL, the NBA, the International Skating Union, the USTA, Wimbledon, the ACC, the Southwest Conference, the Big 12, the Ivy League, DanceSport, Parcour, PBA, PBR, eight Major League Baseball and National Hockey League teams, and many other sports organizations in their television negotiations.

In addition, he also created a number of made-for-television shows including The Superstars, Women Superstars, Celebrity Superstars, The Superteams, The Skins Game, Champions Skins Game, Tiger Woods Primetime Challenge Golf Series, World Professional Figure Skating Championship, 60 Minute Decathlon, The Battle of the Network Stars, World’s Strongest Man, Survival of the Fittest, World Invitational Tennis Classic, Battle at Bighorn, American Gladiators and many others.

Mr. Frank represents and has represented many of the top television sports broadcasters, including John Madden, Bob Costas, Jim Nantz, Mike Tirico, Deion Sanders, Mack Brown, Kirk Herbstreit, Todd Blackledge, Lesley Visser, Chris Evert, Robin Roberts, Peggy Fleming, Ian Baker-Finch, Mark Rolfing, Cris Collinsworth, Lee Corso, Bill Walton, Greg Gumbel, Joe Theismann and many others.  He is still happily employed by the entertainment giant Endeavor.

Yangaroo, Inc. is the official provider of the Digital Media Distribution System Awards Management Solution (“DMDS”) for the submission, judging and voting of all programs in the 39th Annual Sports Emmy Awards.

United Airlines is the official airline of the Sports Emmy Awards and The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

For more information, please visit the website at

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner