Subscribe Now for Email Updates

Home Entertainment Red Carpet Aretha Franklin Is Honored At The 34th Annual Stellar Awards
Aretha Franklin Is Honored At The 34th Annual Stellar Awards

Aretha Franklin Is Honored At The 34th Annual Stellar Awards


34th Stellar Gospel Music Awards Presents Inaugural Aretha Franklin ICON Award to Queen of Soul’s Family with Tribute Performance by Erica Campbell, Kelly Price, Regina Belle

Sensational Performances by Host Kirk Franklin, Hezekiah Walker, Brian Courtney Wilson, Koryn Hawthorne, Todd Dulaney, Charles Jenkins and Jekalyn Carr. The Biggest Night in Gospel Music Premieres on BET Easter Sunday, April 21 at 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT

Top winner Jonathan McReynolds embraces his eight trophies at the 34th Stellar Gospel Music Awards
(Photo Credit: Central City Productions)

Central City Productions wrapped up the taping of the 34th AnnualStellar Gospel Music Awards on Friday, March 29 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, NV. The biggest night in gospel music, hosted by Kirk Franklin, will premiere on BET Network on Easter Sunday, April 21 at 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT.

The stand-out highlight of the evening was an emotional tribute performance by Kelly Price, Erica Campbell, and Regina Belle honoring the undisputed Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin. Family members of the late-legend Brenda Corbett, Jordan Franklin, and Kecalf Franklin were presented with the inaugural Aretha Franklin ICON Award to give posthumous recognition of her profound impact on the Gospel music genre and unforgettable contributions. 

Jordan Franklin, Brenda Corbett and Kecalf Franklin accept the Aretha Franklin ICON Award at the 34th Stellar Awards
(Photo Credit: Earl Gibson III)

The undeniable breakout winner of the annual show was performer Jonathan McReynolds, who swept the awards taking home eight Stellar Awards including AT&T Artist of the Year, State Farm Song of the Year,Male Vocalist of the Year, CD of the Year, Producer of the Year, Contemporary Male Vocalist of the Year,Contemporary CD of the Year and Urban/Inspirational Performance of the Year. 

 Jekalyn Carr (Photo by Earl Gibson III/Getty Images )

Jekalyn Carr received three awards for Albertina Walker Female Vocalist of the Year, Traditional Female Vocalist of the Year and Traditional CD of the Year. The Walls Group were awarded twice as Duo/Chorus Group of the Year andContemporary Duo/Chorus Group of the Year.

A special award presentation was also given to honor gospel legend Delores Washington Green of The Caravans with the Dr. Bobby Jones Legend Award. Gospel star Yolanda Adams and Stellar AwardsFounder, Chairman & CEO Don Jackson inducted James Robinson Jr. (Malaco Gospel), Jackie Patillo(GMA) and Phil Thornton (RCA Inspiration) into the Stellar Honors Hall of Fame.

This year’s sensational line-up of performances included an energetic opening number by Hezekiah Walker, Kirk Franklin stirring the audience to their feet performing new music and a rousing medley by Phil Thompson, Kelontae Gavin, and Maranda Curtis. Other performers included Brian Courtney Wilson, Koryn Hawthorne, Todd Dulaney, Charles Jenkins, and Jekalyn Carr.

The show will continue to air around the country in broadcast syndication from April 27 through May 26 (check local listings). 

For more information visit 



Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


Viola Davis Shines In Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

American Gods Season 3