Home Entertainment News 33rd Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards Recap
33rd  Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards Recap

33rd Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards Recap


Mary Mary/Photo Credit: Earl Gibson III/Getty Images

Central City Productions completed the taping of the 2018 Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards in Las Vegas at the Orleans Arena. The annual show hailed as an “epic night in gospel music,” was hosted by Kirk Franklin. The telecast will premiere on TV One, Good Friday, March 30, at 9/8c. Additionally, the Stellar Awards will air in national broadcast syndication from March 31-May 6, 2018.

Snoop Dog/Photo Credit: Earl Gibson III/Getty Images

This year’s spectacular show open featured Stellar Awards alum Erica Campbell reuniting with her sister Tina Campbell as the hit gospel duo Mary Mary for the first time in more than six years. The show also included an all-star tribute to the late, great Edwin Hawkins, with his sister Lynette Hawkins accepting the Edwin Hawkins Icon Award in his honor. Also, a standout moment featured the multi-platinum award-winning Snoop Dogg performing material from his new gospel album, “Bible of Love.”

All Photos Courtesy of  Earl Gibson III/Getty Images

 The night included performances by Snoop Dogg, Mary Mary, Kierra Sheard, Torri Kelly, Tasha Cobbs Leonard, Anthony Brown, JJ Hairston, Travis Greene, Jonathan McReynolds, Ricky Dillard, Todd Dulaney, Tasha Page Lockhart, KeKe Wyatt, Canton Jones, Deitrick Haddon, Koryn Hawthorne, Le’Andria Johnson and more. Special presenters included Donnie McClurkin, Merle Dandridge, David Mann, Anika Noni Rose, and more.

 The top winners of the night were JJ Hairston winning six awards, Travis Greene winning four awards Tasha Cobbs Leonard, and Anthony Brown both won two awards.

Don Jackson bestowed special honors upon gospel greats who have made significant contributions to the genre. The incomparable Tamela Mann was the 2018 recipient of the James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award and the legendary Rev. Milton Biggham received The Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legends Award. Stellar Honors Hall of Fame Inductees includes Kurt Carr, Ben Tankard, and Dr. Marabeth Gentry – President of the National Convention of Gospel Choirs and Choruses.

 See the full album at the link below:


The Stellar Awards telecast will premiere on TV One on Friday, March 30 at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT and air in broadcast syndication on 130 stations in more than 110 markets around the country from March 31 – May 6, 2018.  For more information visit us at www.thestellarawards.com.


Your Beach Vacation Getaway
Verified by MonsterInsights